Never Again Ever*


Fellow Kenyan,

Didn’t we all sing

As the wise ones

Stirred the magic pot:

Divining, praying and prophesying in search

of the way forward?

Fellow Kenyan,

We all sang

And yearned for change,

The third liberation

Appeared to have been on course:

We hoped it would be

The liberation from tribalism;

We hoped it would be

The liberation from corruption;

We hoped it would be

The liberation from sycophancy;

We hoped it would be

The liberation from the politics

Of kickbacks and rewards.

 

Fellow Kenyan,

All that would not be,

Even as the people had willed

Change at the ballot-box

Because an evil cabal of oligoks

Would subvert the people’s will,

Yet again;

And turn you against me,

And I against you,

And wife against husband,

And doctor against patient,

And turn our ballots

Into weapons of mutual death.

Fellow Kenyan,

Wake up, my brother
Wake up, my  sister
Do not be cheated into bearing

 Arms ONE AGAINST ANOTHER.

 

Fellow Kenyan,

Wake up, my brother;
Wake up, my sister

Never again ever

Shall we allow ourselves

To be played ONE AGAINST ANOTHER

By a manipulative, powerful

Cabal of evil elites.

Fellow Kenyan,

Wake up, my brother;
Wake up, my sister,

Lest we again become

Mere expendable pawns

In this war of a manipulative cabal

of voracious, evil-and-powerful elites.

Fellow Kenyan,

Wake up, my brother;
Wake up, my sister,

Never, never again should we

Allow our ballots to be turned

Into child-killing

weapons of death.

Fellow Kenyan,

Wake up my brother;
Wake up my sister,

There is only one mother

between us, and that mother

is our Dear Kenya;

And we must not allow her

To go to these manipulative

Crows of Nairobi.

Source: RATENG’ AND BRIDE (a poem)

by Joseph R. Alila, June

* http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B002QD5TDM

Leave a Reply

